My Best Friend’s Girl


Release Date: September 19, 2008

Plot Outline: A professional asshole is hired by his best friend to take his ex-girlfriend out on a lousy date in order to make her realize how great her former boyfriend is.

This was so great! Loved it. So very funny. Though I did love it, I had a few problems with it…surprise right? I’m picky, I know.

First of all, it had way too many, overdone cliché moments. A few examples: Girl in the sunlight, guy doing best friend a favor then falls for girl, big scene towards the end where everything comes out in the open. They had this public outing of all the events and confusion more than once! Once is definitely more than enough. It’s too corny for my taste. I hate the public fight and make up scenes.

Though hilarious, it was too predictable. I feel like I have seen the same movie 100 times.

Example of very similar films: Failure to Launch, Wedding Crashers, Good Luck Chuck

If you liked this film you will like all of the above that I mentioned. They all have the same humor and light feel. I liked them all, they are all just too similar.

I love Dane Cook but he always plays the same character. He needs to expand out of his type cast.

Kate Hudson was great and beautiful, as always.

I couldn’t really feel bad for the Jason Biggs character. He was the best friend that got screwed over but he was so annoying. It was difficult to like him.

Lizzy Caplan was awesome. Her character was one of the best ones in the film.

Is Alec Baldwin ever going to play a likeable character???

2 Responses to “My Best Friend’s Girl”

  1. I agree. There were some very funny moments — but this type of movie has been done over and over and over….

  2. I agree 100% I desperately want some originality in the movie industry. The same story has been done over and over again or everything is based on a book. Are there no original ideas left?

Leave a Reply

