Spread


Release Date: July 8th 2009

Plot Outline: Spread is no fairy tale or “van halen video”
Spread is about people struggling to get where they want to be by unconventional methods…and not quite getting there.

Ashton Kutcher costars with the beautiful Margarita Levieva. He plays a young Hollywood wannabe, Nikki. He appears put together, handsome, rich and successful due to his wardrobe, the women he sees, and the houses he occupies; unbeknownst to everyone he encounters Nikki is poor and homeless. Nikki makes his living by sleeping with rich women; he then becomes their lovely charity case. The women find themselves attached to him and want him as their own. Nikki is perfectly fine with the situation until he meets Heather (Levieva). She, like him, makes her living by targeting rich men. The two are attracted to each other and begin an unconventional relationship. Things are going well until Nikki wants Heather all to himself. Will the two gigolo types be able to have a real functional relationship?

Spread was decent. It wasn’t like anything else I have seen which made it fascinating. The plot was intriguing. While watching the film I became more and more disappointed as time went on. There wasn’t much development or room for this movie to progress. I felt as though it were stuck in a bit of a rut.

I was both surprised and pleased by the ending. Not every relationship ends with a happy ending. Sometimes love isn’t enough. Spread proves that and shows that to us through common situations with a slight twist from reality.

2 Responses to “Spread”

  1. Yet another movie that I didn’t know existed. I think I may watch it. I love twisted/jack-backwards endings. I am also one of the few it seems who enjoys Ashton in his dramatic roles.

    • It’s definitely worth a watch. I was never bored just not as impressed as I was by the trailer.
      Let me know what you think once you watch it.
      I love Kutcher’s serious roles. The Butterfly Effect and The Guardian were fantastic. He is a much better actor than people give him credit for.

Leave a Reply

