Four Christmases


Release Date: November 26th 2008

Plot Outline: A couple struggles to visit all of their divorced parents on Christmas Day when their holiday vacation gets canceled.

I was shocked at how much I loved Four Christmases. I thought it was going to be a stupid movie with a few funny moments. I was kind of right but I loved it! I find that I love this genre a lot, stupid, romantic comedies. I loved it from the very first scene.

The chemistry between Brad (Vince Vaugn) and Kate (Reese Witherspoon) was electrifying. But you could tell they were working hard at it. I didn’t care because I loved them as a couple. They are the type of couple I aspire to be. Fun, exciting, adventurous, experimental, and genuinely like each other. They were adorable.

I was shocked at how hilarious Four Christmases was. I burst out laughing numerous times. It continued to be hilarious throughout the entire movie with random, outrageous events.

It did eventually get quite sad and real which was inevitable yet disappointing. I wanted it to stay light and funny but it did address some serious issues that couples go though.

I was impressed at how this romantic comedy gradually built the tension up between Brad and Kate and how we could feel them drifting apart. I was surprised at how well a comedy could ease into serious issues without any awkward or abrupt events.

One thing to make note of is that this movie is called Four Christmases but I couldn’t really figure out why. It lacked the Christmas feel. It is supposed to be a holiday, romantic comedy. It lacked the holiday part. It really didn’t even have to take place during Christmas at all. I felt that it should have been more festive.

Leave a Reply

