The Book of Eli


Release Date: January 15th 2010

Bechdel Test: Fail

Plot Outline: A post-apocalyptic story about a man trying to protect a sacred book which holds the answers for saving mankind.

The beginning of The Book of Eli was pretty slow. I was kind of bored but stuck it out because of my respect for Denzel Washington as an actor and my faith in his movies. I did however play with my hair or played free cell or something throughout the first twenty minutes. I didn’t know what was going on but it wasn’t interesting enough to try to figure it out. It wasn’t mysterious or intriguing. It was more like, “I don’t know what’s going on. If you don’t tell me soon I’m going to turn this off” kind of way. Maybe I’m just impatient.

The Book of Eli definitely got better after the first half hour. I was interested and pretty impressed with the plot. I just love apocalyptic movies! And this one had a bit of a twist to it.

There were a few disturbing scenes that were there for the sake of letting us know the degree of seriousness of Eli’s mission. A few scenes included a bunch of men attacking a girl while Eli witnesses this. He wants to help. We see his inner debate. He says to himself “stay on the path. Its none of your concern”. He repeats this over and over to himself. I thought it was kind of silly because he appears to be this super human. He could have killed the group of men in the time it took him to repeat the sentence over and over.

I did have a few issues with this movie…of course.

A lot of the fight scenes looked fake. The graphics weren’t that impressive. Besides looking lame, the fight scenes were too fast. I couldn’t really see what was going on. It was like a blur of motion, which was frustrating because I really enjoy watching fight scenes.

Also, I just couldn’t understand why sometimes Eli was very fast and almost not human and others he was completely vulnerable and weak. It just didn’t make sense to me. Eli’s persona was changed way too much throughout the movie.

I didn’t realize what a spiritual movie it was going to be. I kind of liked that aspect of it.

*Okay, this part will be extremely vague because I don’t want to ruin the ending. So only those of you who have seen the movie will know what I am talking about*

I also didn’t like the “twist” at the end. I didn’t like it because it didn’t make sense! I went back to check throughout the movie if it was true and it wasn’t. It was a few times but not throughout the entire movie. It would have been noticeable like it was with everyone else.

All in all, The Book of Eli was enjoyable and thought provoking.

6 Responses to “The Book of Eli”

  1. criticnic Says:

    Finally you’re back!
    I don’t know why but this one hasn’t really appealed to me. I like the apocalyptic movies as well. I’ll get around to eventually watching it, your review makes it sound pretty cool.

  2. I disliked the use of designer jeans on the female characters. lol

  3. I’ll have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

