Ondine


 

 

Release Date: March 12th 2010

Plot Outline: A fisherman discovers a woman in his fishing net. He and his daughter believe she is a Selke (mermaid)

I was quite intrigued the first time I saw the trailer for Ondine. It seemed so mysterious, so mystical, and so unique. I was very eager to see it.

When I finally did get a chance to watch it, I was only slightly disappointed.

I was thrilled with the acting. Colin Farrell isn’t always the greatest but he really surprised me in this one. His daughter in the movie, played by Alison Barry was incredible! I was absolutely in love with her. She was so spunky and loveable. I wanted to take her home with me. I have never heard of Alicja Bachleda before but I really hope to see her in a lot more things. I was impressed with her acting. Her charm shines through the screen and grips you. I immediately loved her as an actress.

The Irish accents were very heavy. It was sometimes difficult to understand the characters but I liked it because they made the movie seem authentic and fairytale like.

The characters were all very different people. They all had strong personalities, which I liked. There was also fantastic character development. We really got into the lives and feelings of each character, except for Ondine, which was intentional because she was such a mystery to us.

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie up until the final half hour. The entire point of this movie was that, we as the audience don’t know if Ondine is really a Selke (mermaid) or not. In the end of the movie an elaborate explanation is given that completely destroys all mystiques the film had held up until that point. I was extremely disappointed with that aspect, and not only that but the explanation was absurd. Ondine would have been much better overall if the mystery was kept.

Up until that point it was great though. See it and then just turn it off before the last half hour! 😉

2 Responses to “Ondine”

  1. I actually bought this dvd a couple of weeks ago but haven’t had a chance to watch it yet. The blurb on the back made me giggle a little as I conjured up memories of the movie ‘Splash’ that I used to love as a kid.

    Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

