The Stepfather


Release Date: October 16th 2009

Plot Outline: Michael (Penn Badgley) comes home from military school and becomes obsessively suspicious of his mother’s new fiancé.

The funny thing about The Stepfather is that I saw it and then started watching Nip/Tuck shortly after. I had no idea the main character, played by Dylan Walsh in my new favorite show was the Step Father! This is random but it blew my mind.

So I heard that a lot of people really hated The Step Father, I saw it because I will see anything with Penn Badgley in it. I aspire to marry him some day. I have to be honest; I liked The Step Father a lot. I felt it had a lot of great qualities that a thriller should contain. Though it was predictable, it had a fair amount of mystery. I also felt that it was very good with the tension building. The mood changed severely and naturally. Nothing was abrupt. It was very predictable but also suspenseful. I don’t know how they pulled that off but it works.

I have to admit that the acting was bad on all counts even though I am a huge fan of Amber Heard and Penn Badgley, mostly because I have crushes on both of them. Amber heard is beautiful but a terrible actress. She should just stick to modeling. I did love her in All the Boys Love Mandy Lane though.

I was surprised but there was actually good action in The Stepfather. Some things were a bit over the top but I was entertained and at the edge of my seat for some scenes so I didn’t care if it was overly dramatic.

I liked this movie but I have to say, I was mostly impressed by the way the tension was built. It felt very natural. They did an excellent job with that aspect.

The Stepfather was a good thriller. I would say watch it with a few friends with a bucket of popcorn on a stormy night. Not an award winning thriller but enjoyable and it has hotties in it 😉

One Response to “The Stepfather”

  1. Hoteluri Din Bucuresti

    Asking questions are really fastidious thing if you are not understanding something
    totally, however this article gives good understanding even.

Leave a Reply

