The Stepford Wives


Release Date: June 11th 2004

Plot Outline: A high strung, city couple move to a town where everyone seems to be perfect and old fashioned. Why is everyone so perfect? How does one become a Stepford wife? There is only one way to find out and no way to come back.

I know this is a remake, like everything else in the world. I didn’t see the original, like I usually don’t. Anyway, the plot was just fascinating to me. What an intriguing idea. I liked The Stepford Wives just based on the idea alone but then it just kept getting better and better from there.

I usually hate remakes and resent them for their unoriginal ways but I did actually like this movie. I can’t compare it to the original but I did like it.

First off, I’m not a huge fan of the cast in this movie but the acting was very good and they really worked well together. All of the characters were great and they all had fantastic chemistry.

Bette Midler was simply phenomenal! Her character was quirky, fun, and bold. I wanted to be her friend!

A great thing that I didn’t expect was that I was truly inspired by all of the strong, independent, driven women in the film. It made me want to be a power woman.

Overall I really enjoyed The Stepford Wives. It was funny, intriguing, and actually kind of sad when you think about it. Also, I loved the ending. It just could not have ended better. I love when movies have good endings. I am so often disappointed by the endings and they just ruin the whole movie for me.

This definitely isn’t a memorable, top pick for me but I enjoyed it for what it was.

 

Leave a Reply

