The Crazies


Release Date: February 26th 2010

Bechdel Test: Fail

Plot Outline: The members of a small town in Iowa start going crazy due to mysterious toxins in their water supply.

The Crazies was soooo good. Surprisingly I have no complaints about it! For once I only have good things to say. Shocking, I know. But I do always love zombie type movies. It’s hard for me not to like them…but not impossible.

The Crazies got right down to it. Within the first few minutes of the movie opening we get some action. It was fast paced which I always appreciated.

The Crazies reminded me of Quarantine but on a much larger scale. Instead of being cooped up in a building this zombie apocalypse type event took place in a town. The Crazies was an absolute fantastic thriller. The entire movie was suspenseful and it contained many shocking moments. I won’t lie; I jumped and yelped out loud quite a few times. Granted, I did watch this alone in my room with the lights off.

What I loved about The Crazies was that it wasn’t just about zombies or action. It had many realistic aspects to it.

We get into the human rights issues of how the government can at times hurt its people instead of help them. It all comes down to power and selfishness. We see this throughout the film.

The Crazies felt real. If a zombie apocalypse happened I feel like this would be what it was like. The emotions of desperation, the suspense, and the fear all felt so real thanks to the realistic events and good acting.

I loved how real the relationships in this movie were. We see some characters really trying to stick together and the sacrifices they make for each other’s well being. And on the opposite spectrum we see how some characters are selfish and will do anything to survive, including leaving loved ones behind. And some lines were really thought provoking. Example: “Don’t ask me why I can’t leave my wife and I won’t ask you why you can.” It forces you to put yourself in their situation and really think about what you would do.

I was so impressed with every aspect of the film. Even the music was perfect. It was eerie and successfully set up the mood.

And the ending! Ohhhh, the ending. It was perfection. I don’t think it could have ended any better.

Basically, see The Crazies! It was such a well done zombie/illness film.

 

Leave a Reply

