Now is Good


MV5BMTM2MTA3MDczNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjU0MTA1Nw@@._V1_SX640_SY720_Release Date: 2012

Plot Outline: Tessa has terminal cancer. She is angry, she is scared, she is living life at full speed. She has a bucket list and not much time to complete it. Her short life drastically changes when she falls in love.

Rating: 2/5

I am sick of all of these romanticized terminal illness films. It is overdone and they all follow the same script. I thought Now is Good was going to be different and fresh because the main character was trying to complete a bucket list before she passed away, but I was wrong. Now is Good was the same old tale of a young girl dying of cancer that falls in love and finds meaning in her life told once again, only this time starring Dakota Fanning.

What I disliked the most about this film was Tessa (Dakota Fanning). She was rude and mean and unpleasant and treated her parents horribly. I can only imagine that someone dying of a terminal illness has a lot of built up anger, but Tessa lashing out at her naïve/helpless, sad parents and younger sibling did not make me sympathize with her, it made me hate her. I felt terrible for her parents. They were annoying and unhelpful but they were trying their best and were always met with animosity from Tessa. Tessa was extremely unpleasant and it made the film unpleasant to watch.

Don’t get me wrong, I did not solely dislike this film because Tessa was a jerk. I disliked this film for a number of reasons. The acting was subpar, the story is overdone, it was extremely predictable, and it romanticized dying. I am not a fan of films that romanticize terminal illness because I see this as a real life tragedy that so many people have to go through. I feel the unrealistic depiction of terminal illness is disrespectful and insulting, but hey, that’s just my opinion.

I felt like my life was wasted by watching this film, I do not recommend it and I am happy to move on with my life without ever thinking of this film again.

If you liked this, see: The Fault in Our Stars, A Walk to Remember, Autumn in New York, Sweet November

2 Responses to “Now is Good”

  1. Harsh but fair. ; ) But anything that allows us to llok at the pain of facing death isn’t all bad. We avoid the topic too much so even a lousy movie has some value. Perhaps.
    Marcy Westerling
    http://livinglydying.com/

Leave a Reply

