Flight


flight_ver3

Release Date: November 2012

Plot Outline: An airline pilot saves his passengers from a nearly fatal crash but through the investigation it comes out that he is a drug addict.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Bechdel Test: Fail

Flight was not at all what I expected. I got a completely different idea about the movie from the trailer but I got a lot more than I expected. Flight was not only an action movie, it was the dramatic story of a man (Denzel Washington) battling addiction. Flight had great acting (duhhhh Denzel) and raw emotions. At times Flight was difficult to watch because you are watching a character you have come to care about spin out of control.  Whip (Denzel Washington) continues to destroy his life and you can’t help but care. The writers did a great job of making Whip a likeable, sympathetic character. He has demons but he isn’t demonized because of his addiction. Whip is the underdog we are rooting for. He is an addict that we desperately want to get clean.

Flight brings you through many ups and downs. I smiled, I laughed, I cried, I sighed often.

Flight is a fantastic movie that doesn’t get the recognition it deserves. This is a film I highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

