I Origins


I_Origins_poster

Release Date: September 2014

Plot Outline: A molecular biologist and his lab partner discover something about eyes that could change the way we understand life.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Well ladies and gentlemen, Brit Marling and Mike Cahill have done it again. They have once again delivered a film that has immediately landed itself on my list of favorite movies of all time. Anyone that knows me, knows that Another Earth is my favorite film of all time. I recommend it to anyone that will listen to me rant about it. When I saw that I Origins, by the same writer and director was in the making, I knew I had to see it right away. The plot alone hooked me. I Origins is completely unique and it fully delivers in every way possible. It is unlike any film I have seen before.

I Origins absolutely took my breath away. This film had it all. For one, the soundtrack was beautiful. The music went so well with the scenes in this film. The scenes themselves were absolutely beautiful. They were visually stunning, like works of art. I wish I could have paintings hanging in my apartment of some of the scenes in this film. And the acting…oh the acting! The four main actors in this film (Brit Marling, Michael Pitt, Astrid Berges-Frisbey, and Steven Yuen) were fantastic. Their performances were spot on.

The script was beautifully written. The dialogues are thought provoking and profound. The words spoken by the characters are words you will want to quote for a long time.

Though I Origins is pretty science based and I am not good at science, I was able to follow this film with no problem. I Origins even made science fun and fascinating for me! Not an easy task. I loved that the plot was pretty complex but Mike Cahill (writer and director) made the plot easy to follow as well as engaging. I think this helps the film to be accessible for a wide audience when it comes to a variety of intelligence levels.

I Origins was pretty long but it didn’t feel that way at all. I could not look away from the screen for a single second. When the film ended I couldn’t believe it was over. I wanted to see more.

Both Another Earth and I Origins have fantastic endings that leave you begging for more. When both films came to a close my body was filled with goose-bumps.

I highly recommend I Origins (and Another Earth!) to anyone that loves unique films that challenge you and make you think about life for days on end.

I see a lot of movies and I have never had a favorite director until now. Mike Cahill and Brit Marling are a genius duo and I really hope they continue to make films together. I have vowed to see every film Brit Marling even appears in. She is such a talented actress and it is obvious she chooses her roles carefully. In my experience, any film Brit Marling is in is sure to be a fantastic cinema experience.

It is such a shame that these films haven’t received the recognition and attention they deserve. I hope more people have the pleasure of experiencing these films.

I could rant forever but basically: Drop what you are doing and watch I Origins right now!

Leave a Reply

